HD Cam Selection Help

Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

Hi Folks:

As I am completely new to video production and editing, and would like to start out in the right direction, it would be very helpful to have some input on selecting my first camera.

My hobby is exploring old hard rock mines up in the Cascade Mountains of Washington State. I have always taken photos of the expeditions, but have only recently started taking rudimentary video using the movie function of my digital camera (Sony DSC-W230). I take the photos and video to not only document what I find, but to also allow other people who cannot otherwise hike to see what is out there.

Here are some tidbits of info about what I know and think I know about the type of camera I would like and environment it will be used:

– This will be my first video camera, so simple is better. But as I start to play around and learn more adjustability would be nice.

– HD would be preferable.

– I already have Sony Vegas Movie Studio 9.0 Platinum.

– The hikes run anywhere from a couple of hours to well over 12, so the ability to switch batteries is a must.

– The environment can be brutal (heat, cold, moisture), but of course the camera will be protected as much as possible.

– The equipment will get jostled while hiking, but usually stationary when filming. It will be kept in a Pelican waterproof case when not in use.

– Filming conditions will be everything from pitch-dark mines to bright sunshine and everything in-between.

– Dont know if is matters, but my current computer has USB-2 and an HDMI port.

– Would prefer a headset port to monitor audio levels and the ability to use an external microphone but an unlimited budget I do not have. (-: