HD?

Viewing 5 reply threads
  • Author
      Inactive

Hey guys, i’m a bit of a novice in the world of videomaking so bear with me,

I’m going to be shooting a Music Video for a band as part of my Video Production name, and i want to get the best quality footage that i can, as i am at University i have access to HD camera’s, now first of all if i shoot on HD, will i be able to edit it in Final Cut Pro 6? or would i need to use some kind of HD version of it? Also should i shoot the video in widescreen or not? i want the video to look as professional as it can be, i’m guessing that the video will mostly be being played through youtube and on the internet, but i would also like to get it onto DVD as well. Is there anything i should be looking out for when shooting in HD, i don’t want to get all this footage and then find that i’ve done some rookie mistake when i come to editing it.

Also i recently edited a Parkour video, when i added some slow motion effects and exported it, it kind of stuttered on playback, whereas it didn’t seem to do this when viewing it final cut, have i exported it at the wrong frame rate or something?

thanks for any advice πŸ™‚

Participant

Final Cut Pro 6 does edit HD, however, make sure you need HD. People these days get to psyched on HD and forget that they and their clients have no HD TVs to view the final video on. You would also need a Blu-Ray burner. But also keep in mind that shooting in HD and down-converting to SD after you finish cutting the video makes for really good SD video. Does that make sense.

Shooting HD will automatically be in the 16:9 aspect ratio. Thats just the standard for HD. All HD camera shoot widescreen.