Hard Disk or Mini-DV

Viewing 8 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

Hi, I am new to the videography world, and I have been post editing since January. My buddy let me use his JVC GZ-HD7U hard disk video camcorder. I have been using for the last 2 months. I am real comfortable with the controls for the most part. The only thing that I do not like with it is the indoor shooting with low light is not very good.

So I am in the market to get a camera soon to do weddings, indoor events like concerts and action video. My 2 questions are:

1. Should I stay with a hard disk DVC or go with Mini-DV media?

2. What DVC would help me out on the indoor or low light problem?

I am trying to stay in the under $1000 range but my budget can be at about the $1500 or so price range. I see that the GZ-HD7U can be had for about $600, but I wonder if there is something else out there that can work for me.

thanks for the help,

Mark

Participant

“Should I stay with a hard disk DVC or go with Mini-DV media?”

It’s your call. Personally, I’d record to tape unless you have a camera that records to some sort of memory card, such as a P2 card from Panasonic or an SxS card from Sony. I dunno what it is about hard disk drive cameras, I just don’t trust em. I’d want to know my footage is recorded securely. Tape is almost always reliable; however, MiniDV is highlysusceptibleto drop out, and P2 cards are a proven technology. Robust as hell they are.

If you choose to go with a camera that records to a miniDV tape, I suggest a Sony camera that records the DVCam codec. It records to a miniDV tape, but at a faster rate, so it is less like to have drop out. A 60min tape will last 40 minutes though.

“What DVC would help me out on the indoor or low light problem?”