Guitar Pro needs Camera/Software Advice

Videomaker – Learn video production and editing, camera reviews Forums General Open Forum Guitar Pro needs Camera/Software Advice

Viewing 5 reply threads
  • Author
      Inactive

Hello from Green Bay, WI.

I’m a pro musician (36 years) who no longer tours but now passes on the magic thru my teaching studio. What I want to do is create video lessons for my students and to sell online. I have extensive audio editing experience (ProTools, etc.) but my video capture/editing was limited to tour bus shenanigans.

My plan is for a two camera shot – one over my guitar neck recording my fingering and hand position on the neck and a second shooting my pick hand. I’ll be recording the audio both off the cameras and with a Tascam DR-07 MKII. I obviously don’t need pro level cameras for this and the expense that comes with them. I would like to capture to removable media (sd cards, etc.) to facilitate transfer to my computer (windows 7, 16gb ram, intel i7) for editing.

So any suggestions for a couple of cameras would be most appreciated. Also any suggestions for consumer/prosumer editing software? I don’t need a full boat Avid/Adobe/Vegas install. Just something to let me edit my clips – “Freebird – Riff One – Freebird- Riff Two”. (Hey! Can you play “Freebird?” oh, Lord, how many times have I heard that.)

Much thanks for any help you can give.

Participant

look at the go-pro hero twos…

If I was hired to shoot this I’d do a go-pro on the guitar to get the picking and either a go -pro or my Sony sr 12 shooting the neck to get the fingering..

then into Final cut x to sync the video clips and audio file together then do a split screen effect with both hands on screen…

do the talking head shots with my d-slr.

for lighting a simple large chinese white paper chinese lantern and a bright bulb, cfl or halogen

Participant

But can you play Alvin Lee’s solo from the Woodstock version of “I’m Goin’ Home”?