Guidelines for pre-production…Suggestions?

Viewing 16 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

Does anyone have a written plan (template) that they use for pre-production?
      I’m going to shoot some equestrian instructional videos and I need to provide the talent with some sort of written guidelines to help them prepare their content.

I figure once I have their outline I can plan the shots and make more sense of what should go on tape.

Obviously I’m a novice or I’d have this in the bag already. πŸ™‚

Participant

Are you supposed to write a script or are they providing that? If they want to do it, you will want to get that from them first. If you are to do it, you will need to gather as much info about what is to go in it as possible.

Participant

Are you supposed to write a script or are they providing that? If they want to do it, you will want to get that from them first. If you are to do it, you will need to gather as much info about what is to go in it as possible.

Participant

Well the main person says he’ll just need cue cards with bullet points. Is there really anything else to do? I figured once I got the cue cards from them that I could plan everything around that.

I’m just a novice so I wanted to check to see if you pros had any formulas that you use.

Participant

Yea I guess you’re right. Ok I’ll do that. Thanks

Participant

Oh for sure. And this is not just a “for-hire” deal either. This is actually a partnership in which I’ll receive royalties from each video sold. So we’re definitey going to take our time.

The instructor has about 40 years of experience training horses and he does teaching clinics in front of hundreds of people every weekend so that’s the reason I don’t think he needs a written script. He did suggest having a bullet point board so that he won’t spend to much time on one topic or jump ahead and that kind of thing.