Greetings and Please Help!!!

Viewing 5 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

Hello All,

Im a fairly experienced shooter; however I dont do video work as a profession per se. I am an inventor/product designer/developer and often produce my own DVDs which accompany my products.

I have a PD-150 which I havent used in over a year and with which I plan to shoot an exercise video for a new fitness product I developed. My project partner is to be our demonstration model for the video. Tonight we shot our beta video for case study hand-outs and for several physicians to receive with the product for testimonials. As this was only a beta video, I didnt bother with the arduous task of lighting the room with 4-5 K watts worth of softlights; I merely used the ample available lighting within the room to shoot. As most of you know, the Pd-150 is known for decent low light video acquisition; hence I didnt go to extremes lighting the set.

I also own an almost virgin Canon XL-2, but I chose to use the PD-150 as I am partitioning the DVD 16:9 full screen into windows which will contain info as well as graphics and video simultaneously. Although the XL-2 will shoot 4:3, it looses some resolution; I figured the PD-150 would give me the best 4:3 image of the two for this particular project.

After uploading tonights beta footage to my PC via Firewire, I noticed the footage appears crummy in the timeline and after rendering to MPEG-2 grainy, dark and not fluid looking. I NEVER shoot on auto; for this beta video I set the shutter speed to 1/125 as the motion of the exercise begs for a slightly higher speed. My iris was 1.6 with zero gain. I did a clean manual white balance as well. My exposure was respectable; I verified with my zebra stripes on hot spots with which I am familiar.