GL-1 realignment question

Viewing 0 reply threads
  • Author
      symphonitron
      Participant

I’ve had my old GL-1 since before the GL-2 came out. It’s the only prosumer camcorder I’ve ever had, and I’ve loved the thing to death. However a few years ago I came to discover that it was out of alignment. I was told by the editors of the tapes I was shooting that they could no longer play my tapes in their decks, whereas I could play them fine in my GL-1. (They had no problem with my tapes originally. This is over a 2 year period.)

I’m not a professional videographer, and have not had any cameras realigned before. I set my GL-1 aside and simply stopped using it for a while, in favor of a lesser quality 1-chip consumer camera. But I am now ready to get the GL-1 realigned. Before I do, I am concerned about many of the tapes (just home movies) that I shot with it. Those tapes do not play in any camcorder except the GL-1. (What decks will play GL-1 tapes, that are still around??)

If I realign it, I fear that some of the tapes may no longer be playable. (Some may have been shot while it was out of alignment.) Is this fear justified?

Recently I have been trying to offload every tape that is playable with my GL-1 into Final Cut Pro, where I can then archive. However, some of the tapes recorded around 2000 are not playing correctly in the GL-1. The effect is mostly in the sound. When I play back the tape, the sound drops out every few seconds. When I capture with iMovie, the effect is that the whole video is captured but with a lot of static coming and going, and iMovie has the annoying habit of sending lots of frames or small groups of frames to the end of the capture event like a spilled jigsaw puzzle, out of sequence. Final Cut Pro’s log & capture simply stops dead in its tracks and says there was a problem with the tape every few seconds.

Is this sign of the realignment problem?