Getting your foot in the door

Viewing 6 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

Hi, i have recieved some emails of interested clients. The problem is im just starting out and i don’t have any wedding sample footage to show clients. I have quite a bit of experence with filming/camcorders but i can’t get a job since i have any sample footage. I have filmed a baby shower for one client but people want to see wedding samples, so it seams like a waste of time to edit it down to a sample. Any ideas on how to get my foot in the door?

Thank you

It is important to be able to present SOMETHING in line with what potential clients are seeking, as you’ve noted such is the case with people considering you as their wedding video producer. Many who have entered this aspect of commercial event video business, including myself, have had to produce wedding video for friends or relatives, or friends of relatives πŸ˜‰ on the cheap or gratis, with the understanding that the material you acquire can be used for your marketing purposes. I really cannot think of another way to accomplish having production footage you can claim as your own and that reflects what you are able to do to the satisfaction of inquiring potential clients.

Participant

Making a wedding video as a gift for a close friend or family member is a wonderful thing and can be a labor of love as well as giving you something you can use in a demo reel.

I don’t usually do weddings but am putting together another gift as I type (sis-in-law – I have several pieces done but need a lot more work). Were I to charge for what I did and plan to do, it would approach five figures. (Fly into NY from FL with all my equipment, spend a day with them for the rehearsal and all day during the event itself – over seven hours of raw footage, five separate videos on DVD, BD and web – trailer (3 mins), love story (5 mins), special song during ceremony (3 mins), highlights (25-30 mins) and full edit (75-90 mins).