FX1, De-interlacing, 1080i, and Cineform NeoScene

Viewing 14 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

Hello.

I hope this is the right place to ask this question. If this is not the right place to ask this, please just let me know what is.

I am still studying, trying to get ready for my first shoot. I have a Sony HDR-FX1 camera that records HDV in 1080i. I want to publish educational/documentary videos. I think probably 90% of the views will be online, and I hope to upload HD to YouTube, Vimeo, Veoh, MetaCafe and others. I plan to embed the Vimeo players and/or links in a new website we are working on. However, I also want to make things available in DVD (immediately), and if possible I would also like to burn to Blu-Ray, so I do not have to re-do anything inlater years(if that makes sense).

I understand 1080i is not as good as 1080p, but it would be pulling teeth to upgrade my camera right now. I also bought the Cineform NeoScene Codec/converter, but have not had the opportunity to use it yet.

I did a Google search and got all sorts of advice about what format to shoot in, and whether to de-interlace or not. I want to do my best job, but since I am just getting started I also do not want to cause myself any problems. Everyone raves about the ‘film look’ of 24p. Is it difficult to use/edit? I have my FX1 set to Cinematone, Cineframe 24 (which I think is 24p). Here are my questions:

In Vegas Pro 8.1 or 9.0 (64 bit), under PROJECT PROPERTIES > VIDEO, do I select:

HDV 1080-60i, 1440 x 1080, 23.976 fps? Or is it better just to go with 29.970 fps, and set my camera to Cineframe 30 mode?

Also, when capturing in Vegas, do I de-interlace, or not de-interlace? There are all sorts of opinions out there (and all of them conflict).