Funeral Slideshow Costs

Viewing 3 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

I have been producing photo slideshow videosindependently for 5 or 6 years now but have never been able to break into the market for getting a contract with a funeral home and producing for them on a regular basis since every one of them in my area already have their own contracts with other production companies. Recently I discovered a new funeral home coming to the area and I really want to give it my best shot to pick up a contract with them. I have produced a demo reel of some of my most recent and best slideshow videos but I am not sure what I should ask for charge costs. I have my own current price rates but I don’t know what one should ask as a fair price to a funeral home business. Does anyone do this and if so what do you charge for a video to a funeral business? I don’t want to overcharge them, yet I don’t want to be getting paidliterallynothing for the work I put into it as well.

I do hundreds of them each year, but I also offer and provide projection services as well making this an easier sale. I practically GIVE away the montages because they usually bring me the income I want from the projection, and I make an average of $150 additionally from the 5-6 average number of digital master DVD copies I sell.

The money being in the projection and duplication, I offer 24-hour turnaround from time of receipt of materials (hard copy photos and/or digital Jpeg files on CD, or a mix of both, the occasional slide or so), I charge $125 for production of the master DVD. I allow for “up to” 150 images, three songs, opening/closing title, custom graphics on the DVD and a custom insert in ultrathin DVD case.