Funding Equipment

Viewing 6 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

What suggestions do people have on making the money to upgrade equipment (Camera, Sound, Lighting)?

Participant

That all depends. I am a wedding videographer so I tend to make wedding videos for money. 😀

If you’re not in the biz you could get a job 😀

You may need to elaborate…

Inactive

Like Endeavor said, it all depends on what you’re doing.

If you want to make a film, documentary, or a production that would film on TV, national networks like PBS will help you secure project funding, which includes funding for new gear that you can keep after the show. Keep in mind though, to go this route, you will need a very detailed plan laid out, and even at that point you may need to get a loan to get the project started, so it all depends.

If you have some gear right now, the best idea is to use it to it’s capacity to earn money for upgrades. Like Endeavor, I do weddings, and it’s a good way to bring in cash. Easy? No. But very enjoyable for me.

Participant

I share a similar issue. I’m a student and I have a job, but I realized why don’t I use my passion to help pay for itself?

How did you start out? Can you suggest any jobs without a significant amount of commitment?
      Right now I’m 16, own a ZR200 (worthless, I borrow my friend’s XL2 or my school’s equip. for anything worthy) and a laptop with FCE.

Do you think I should invest in a better camera and tripod to find myself any work?
      Thanks.

Inactive

Hey Spencer,

When I first went into business, I spent every penny of my savings, and even borrowed more money to cover my initial equipment. It’s not a cheap field to get into, especially if you want to be your own boss, but it’s not impossible.