Forest Gump needs help video editing

Viewing 8 reply threads
  • Author
      Anonymous

Hi there,

I’m a scriptwriter who is trying to learn film/video editing to serve my writing. I may be writing and producing online content but I have no training or experience shooting or editing film/video.

I will probably just be using a $200-300 camcorder at least until I can afford more.

I’m using XP Pro and I’m interested in free video editing software so I can become conversant in video editing jargon and techniques.

I was hoping there was a video editing software which was the equivalent of Audacity which is both free, very easy to use and learn and has a very helpful support forum.

Reading many articles online I did discover VideoPad Video Editor. I was curious if any others on the list have used this?

I also read a couple of articles about lightworks and Avedimux video editing software and I even joined their forums but I never received any responses posts to my questions about getting started with editing software.

I think Im too much of a newbie for those forums! πŸ™‚

There’s a real learning curve to lightworks and I’m not the best at reading manuals then using software. I’m more visually oriented in learning.

I’m not sure where to turn for help but I thought this forum might have some insight.

Thank you very much for your help.

Anonymous

Free software is often worth every penny πŸ˜‰ I would recommend spending a bit for something with an upgrade path, industry support and professional capabilities. Vegas, and Premiere Elements comes to mind. The biggest advantage is that you’ll be able to ‘graduate’ to the full professional versions should you want to, and get access to robust user forums.

You should be warned that a robust computer (lots of RAM, lots of disk space and a fast CPU) will make your life much easier.

All software will have a learning curve, but if you stick to the ‘big brands’ you shouldn’t have to go through the pain when you upgrade.