fluid head tri-pod for newbie

Viewing 9 reply threads
  • Author
      Inactive

I am a novice videographer who shoots mostly stage performances and would like to get into wedding videographer at some point. I am ready to start upgrading my gear and am interested in a fluid head tri-pod as mine likes to snag when I am panning across the stage. My current camcorder is just a Sony Handycam Hi-8mm, so camera weight is pretty light. Does anyone have any recommendations for a somewhat inexpensive, yet respectable fluid head tripod? My biggest concern is fluid panning, not necessarily rugged-construction (I probably won’t be doing a lot of nature shooting). Where do you guys shop for items such as this? I’d like to have one in two weeks.

Thanks for any advice!

Joe

Participant

I got this one when I was in high school. It have a smooth head and works well for beginners. Not too expensive either.

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/576022-REG/Bescor_TH_770_TH_770_High_Performance_Tripod.html

See the alternate post, “Great Tripod Advice” on Videomaker Forums. And, yes, B&H Photo Video is an excellent source for both information and product.

Inactive

robgrauert,

That looks about what I would like, though it says it is out of stock at the moment.

Earl,

I was just looking at that before I checked in here…it sounds like that person is in a whole other price range ($12k camera!). I do have a B&H catalog, I think it came because of my subscription to VideoMaker.

Thanks guys!

Joe

Participant

at first glance, this doesn’t look to bad to me:

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/502679-REG/Matthews_M25_M25_Tripod_System.html#accessories

or just wait for the other one to stock up again. You don’t necessarily have to stick to what someone suggests, just browse and see what fits your price range.