First Wedding. Help Welcomed!

Viewing 7 reply threads
  • Author
      Inactive

Okay so this coming Saturday I am shooting my first wedding. For my company I usually shoot game tapes and sports videos, but no weddings yet. My main camera is an XH-A1 but I am renting a Sony HVR-A1U and the Sennheiser EW 112P G2 (wireless lav mic)

My plan is to set the Sony on a tripod at the back as a wide-shot and walk around with my A1 since I know it better. The mic will be on the groom. But since this is my first time using a wireless mic system, I don’t know how to hook it up properly.

Would it be best to have thereceiverwith me on the XH-A1? So that way I canmonitorthe levels as I go along.

Also, I am concerned about syncing up the audio and video of the 2 cameras + the lav mic. Should this really be a concern?

I’m not worried about editing it all together because I have obviously edited a lot of footage. Just capturing the wedding is what I’m concerned about. But if you need to know I’m editing on FCP6.

Any other recommendations are welcomed!

Thanks.

ld

Inactive

LD,

Is it possible to get someone to run the wide angle camera at the Rear? That would give you much more flexliblity..As for the wireless I use a MIni recorder, I use a lav mic on the grooom, slip it in his pocket and let it run.Just get him to give you a few seconds of testing testing and set the limiter(most have them).

Sync will be an issue, I just finished a weeks worth of editing syncing up 2 cameras and 1 audio track but well worth it! I basically chopped the whole mess up and re-assembled. Dont worry about sync while filming, Just look for flashes and sounds when syncing it all together in studio. I also had to insert 3 tracks of music the dj didn’t turn up on the outside PA. Just enough to hear but not mess with the ambient sound(whatch for phasing) Thats another story.

Sounds like you have enough equip. and knowledge to pull it off though…Good Luck.

Harry

Participant