First Time Shooting a local Band

Viewing 3 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

I am a still photographer, and have been asked to shoot a video of a local nightclub band onstage. I realize this is an involved subject, but Can anyone offer some beginning advice on the rental of some basic Audio equipment and what type of camcorder might surfice for this type of work. I am mostly concerned about the audio, I am wondering if an on camera Mic will be good enough to capture their sound! The final product will be a CD, for them to present to potential new clubs owners.

Participant

Personally I would not use the on camera mic as your audio source. In a club it would be too hard to keep it from clipping and the drums/bass would likely drown out everything else. You will need to check out what kind of equipment the club has first and see how you can hook things up. I would bring a laptop and some kind of USB audio recording interface. It really depends on how you want to record it. If you just want a quick and dirty recording you can output a stereo channel from the mixing board into your recording interface. But if you want to actually remix the recording later it gets quite a bit more complicated.

The USB recording interfaces I’ve used are the Tascam US-122 (newer version is US-122L). It can record 2 channels at the same time so you could have a stereo recording. You would use this one for your quick and dirty recording. It’s actually pretty nice, but can be a pain to setup (on the computer) sometimes.
      http://www.directproaudio.com/product.cfm?directid=57830
      The USB interface I use currently is the Lexicon Omega. You can record 4 channels at the same time. You could hook it up via direct outputs from the mixing board, or by using aux sends. You would use this if you wanted to remix the recording later.
      http://www.directproaudio.com/product.cfm?directid=56192