Filming a dance recital

Viewing 8 reply threads
  • Author
      Inactive

I’ve been filming dance recitals for a company for a couple of years now. I am using a VX2100. I just leave the focus on auto, which is usually ok, but it gets problematic when the lights go on/off. It gets blurry while the lights are turning on, cutting of a second or so in the beginnings when I edit.

I would rather not use manual focus for the fact some performances use the whole stage. Especially when I am not really good at using it. Would it be better to keep the focus on infinity?

Any suggestions would be great!

Inactive

i would suggest to you that you get comfortable adjusting focus manually, it’s not that hard once you do it enough. If you have to zoom in say for a soloist or to capture an expression, you have to adjust focus from infinity. Practice Practice Practice. the more you practice with your camera, the better you will become and the happier you will be with your product.

Inactive

The studio likes to keep the shot wide, without any zooms, pans or anything. They like to keep it that way to see the formations and transitions between dancers. So it’s basically point and shoot. I’m just concerned about the auto focus always readjusting itself when the lights fade in/out.

I will practice on my manual focus though for other types of videotaping.

Participant

If you are always keeping a wide shot, turn the auto focus off, have someone stand center stage, zoom in on his or her face, and set your focus. Now your focus is set for the center stage and ready to go. If you are 30 or so feet back from the stage, all performers should show good focus the entire recital with out changing your focus. At the very least you will only need to make minor adjustments.

Inactive