Feedback on Sports intros, please

Viewing 7 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

Hello all,

I just finished high schoolspringsports preview shows for local cable – any comments,constructive criticism, ideas, suggestions would be great. Thanks!

All shot with consumer cam (Canon FS200), ghetto lighting, green screenfootagekeyed in FCP 6, final editing compositein PPro CS3.

All three projects were completed intwo days.

Baseball: http://www.srcn-mi.com/node/123

Track and Field:http://www.srcn-mi.com/node/121

Softball: http://www.srcn-mi.com/node/122

Thanks!

I prefer the flip used between players in the baseball one to the ones used in the track and softball videos.

The keying was well done.

Sound: maybe it’s the internet, but it was a bit raspy when volume went up, and the music was a bit loud in spots (ie the coach’s interview in the baseball video).

(I’m by no means a pro, though.)

Other than that, looked great to me!

Futball,

I’m with Pseudo on the ‘flips’ working with the baseball intro only. The drawback using the more dynamic transitions is that it quickly looks ‘gimmicky’ and gets old fast. Another thing was the images of the players and coaches were really small. The should be larger to be more identifiable. Lastly, when you get to the coaches commentary the whole thing was begging for you to cut to B-Roll of the players in action. Even if you may not have stock footage from their last season, shots from their current practices would have broken up the ultimate ‘blah, blah, blah’ from the coaches and emphasized what they were talking about.