FCP/Motion the same as After Effects?

Viewing 3 reply threads
  • Author
      Inactive

So I have a fairly newbie type question (considering my experience in the field is extremely limited, I fit right into that category). I was watching a tutorial about adding muzzle flash to a gun shot. The editor was using Adobe After Effects. Although I am a designer and understand Adobe products fairly well, my video editing experience (remember, limited) is mostly in Final Cut (and some iMovie HD, but anyway). Can I simply use the multi-track system in Final Cut to do the same image editing as done in After Effects? I wish I could find the tutorial and paste the URL in here, but of course it’s avoiding me right now. The editor basically added the muzzle flash, did some simple color correction and saturation work. I might even be looking for more clarification regarding the differences & similarities between Adobe and FCP….

Participant

Theoretically you could probably do it in FCP. I know in Motion you can use muzzle flashes and make them 3D and rotate at the click of a mouse. That might be handy when you want to use the same muzzle flash as a previous clip, but you are now at a different angle.

naw mean?

Participant

particle illusion will take care of this in a flash for you (pun intended)

You will find just drawing up a quick flash in photoshop and then poppong it in for a frame will get ya real close. It’s cheezy but it’s quick.

Participant

Adobe After Effects is not an image editor it is a motion graphics application with compositing features. It is industry standard in Television production for creating on air graphics. It is also used in some film workflows though is less common there due ot the proliferation of turnkey non-software systems like Flame.