Facebook as a “Resume” to hire an employee

Videomaker – Learn video production and editing, camera reviews Forums General Open Forum Facebook as a “Resume” to hire an employee

Viewing 7 reply threads
  • Author
      Luis Maymi LopezLuis Maymi Lopez
      Participant

Hello Videomaker Community

This is not exactly video related (that why I post it in Open Forum), but I would like to hear what you think about this.

I recently wrote an article for my blog, “Facebook Resume; Hiring someone for a Job” and I was wondering if you think to be unethical to use Facebook as a “Resume” to hire an employee?. I personally believe that business should consider this because they should hire the best people that can make their business grow (Facebook will sure give a lot of information about a person). I wrote about things that should be consider when evaluating the person Facebook profile, such as the pictures. What do you all think?

Participant

I am not a lawyer nor do I play one on TV.

That said, I don’t know if there would be a liability if you look at their personal stuff (I know HR told me I was not allowed to ask personal questions on interviews – specifically “What do you do for fun?” any more).

What you can do (I believe) is compare any technical (including video) claims and job histories between what they send you, FaceBook, MySpace, LinkedIn, etc… to ensure consistency – serious differences can signal a problem.

However,

Many employers are looking at FB and using prospective employees pages to see what’s what. If you have anything that could be considered, inflammatory material, rants or otherwise stuff a prospective employer might find questionable, they will use it against you. Best thing to do is keep your deepest feelings to yourself and don’t put them online unless you can accept when someone throws it back in your face.