extreme amateur with tons of questions

Viewing 6 reply threads
  • Author
      Inactive

Hello everyone,

I am 23 yrs old 5th grade teacher and would like to jump into the movie making buisness. I am an extreme novice as I have never shot anything. However, before I throw my hat in as a teacher and go to film school. I want to make a documentary chronicalling my last year of teaching. I have all summer to learn as much as possible about equipment, shooting, editing, and anything else associated with shooting a film. Please, please help me by answering some of these questions:

I am shopping around for a new laptop- although I am a PC loyalist I am willing to switch to a mac if it is more effiecient. What do you suggest?

I of course need to buy a camera and tripod for when I cannot hold the camera myself. What are some good choices on a budget of about $450?

What are some good websites to learn about shooting, editing, etc.?

Are there any sites that have free documentaries just so I can get some ideas?

Any and all tips would be helpful as I embark on this project!!!

Participant

However, before I throw my hat in as a teacher and go to film school…

First of all, I don’tparticularly recommend going to film school.You will learn better by reading/watching on your own and making your own movies. Go read the forum called “Newbie with Questions” http://videomaker.com/community/forums/topic/newbie-with-questions-2?replies=11ifyou haven’t yet.

Please, please help me by answering some of these questions: I am shopping around for a new laptop- although I am a PC loyalist I am willing to switch to a mac if it is more effiecient. What do you suggest?