Exporting for web.

Viewing 3 reply threads
  • Author
      Inactive

Hello-

I am new to editing and I just installed Premiere CS3 last week. I am happy with my videos so far, however when I attempt to upload them to Facebook and/or YouTube, the visual quality decreases significantly.

I have experimented with various exporting options and settings however none seem to fix these issues.

Can any of you give me any advice?

Thanks,

Ryan

Participant

uploading videos to youtube and sites related to youtube cause the video to look crappy. You sacrifice quality foraccessibility. What you want to do is find the right balance between bit rate/quality and file size. Increasing the bit rate increases the quality, but also the files size. So when you compress for sites like youtube, you want to have the highest bit rate possible without going over the files size limit.

Once you at satisfied with your new file of compressed video, upload it to youtube (or another video site). From there they take the video and compress it even more. You have no control over what they do. The best thing to do is follow through on what i mentioned in the above paragraph.

When I export for sites like youtube, I often make the resolution 640X480 rather than 320X240. Resolution doesn’t impact the file size as much as bite rate does. And if you ever worked in photoshop, you may have noticed that when you take an image and shrink it down, it’s a little bit better looking. Not a lot, just a bit though…

Inactive