Edit pesky Photographer out of video

Viewing 5 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

Hi all,

Finally came on line to check out the forums here. Long time reader of the mag. I am an intermediate Videographer with 3 years experience.I was hoping you guys could give me some creative ideas for a situation i have.

I shot wedding for a friend, all went great except the photographer! It was like a hockey game , She kept pushing her way in front of me, She stood in front of my stationary cam for half the ceremony. Almost every shot i was getting she managed to be in.The ceremony is the problem. The reception i was able to edit her out nicely.I could use a garbage matte, but what would i do with her?

What method would anyone here use to edit this? Thanks in advance for the help.

Chris

Participant

you could offer to collaborate….get your client on board.

if your client gets permission to use the photos in your video for you, you could do a Ken Burns style pan/zoom over the still images.

It stands to reason, that the stills could fill in the points where you got nothing on the video.

I’m only suggesting this, cause I shoot video and stills on my projects, and it works for me.

I also use detial shots (Flowers, rings, etc, close ups of faces, hands, dress, etc) to mix in the video for interest.

Participant

If I wanted to get rid of somebody:

During shooting: I’d either step in front of her, raise or move the cameraor tell her straight I know 5 martial arts and I’m not afraid to use them. it wouldn’t be so much “hitting a girl”, as “accidently karate chopping herhard enough to knock herout cold”. (ok, i’m kidding)

During Postproduction: I’d cut out footage with her in it as much as possible and for the rest, try doing a fit-to-shape mask in Adobe After Effects or Photoshop CS3 Extended.

If I want somebody out, they don’t stay in, unless a shot they’re in has good composition otherwise and they don’t move around the shot for a bit.

Participant