DVDs don’t function correctly in newer players

Viewing 7 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

I am a beginner in making DVDs and do it mostly for vacations and family events. I have noticed that the DVDs I make work on computers and older players but skip & lock up with the newer HD DVD players. I am planning to update equipment & software in the near future & would like to solve this problem but don’t know what the cause might be or where to start. I have used 3 different burners with little difference. I edit & burn using Pinnacle version 12 with default settings on a WindowsXP computer. All equipment is over 4 years old. Can anyone point me in the right direction?

What ” default ” settings are you using for bit rate? I discovered that bit rates above 3000 to 4000 don’t always play in newer DVD players. I was burning @ max bit rate and although I could play my own DVD’s not everybody else could. Has sumthin to do with RAM in the player ( even some laptop computers ).

Rick Crampton

Participant

I looked at the setting for the DVDs, its at 8500 Kbits/sec. The value isn’t adjustable from the setup screen (blanked out, but since I am using high quality DVD settings elsewhere thatcrank up the bit rates for those sections, maybe it is also bumping up the rates for final process/burn. I will tinker with the setting over the next few days to see what happens.

Thanks for the lead

RockyRocky
      Participant

First thing I would check out is the brand of the DVD you are using. When I first made inquiries as to the brand of DVD professionals in the industry use, they all recommended the same brand, Verbatim DVD-R. Suggest you make your own inquiries as I am not out to promote any DVD brand.