Documentary Camera Help <—-Imma noob

Viewing 10 reply threads
  • Author
      Inactive

Hey wuts up, I’m new to the forum and heres the thing:

I’m a novice screenwriter and I’ve had an idea for a documentary for a couple years now. I know very little about camcorders/hd/ratio/etc…

I need to buy some used equipment on a shoestring budget. The good news is I’m very proficient with computers and I do have a brand new computer and some of the software I will need.

I will be flying around the country, as well as other countries to film. Almost all of the filming I will be doing will be indoors; kinda on-the-fly filming in people’s homes. The documentary consists mainly of interviews with various people.

I am new to this, so please help me out here. I believe I need a used camera, a microphone, and possibly removable media.

What kind of gear would be best for someone like me with very little cash?

^ I only have a couple hundred dollars….I might be able to scrounge up 500 in the next couple months, if im extremely lucky….and remember I’ll probably need used gear.

-Thanks a lot.

P.S. I need good enough quality to take my documentary to film festivals without looking like the poor jerk that I am.

Participant

Have you considered renting equipment? You will be able to use much better equipment that way fot the budget. And who knows, if your documentary makes some money, maybe you could buy some stuff. Just a thought.

Inactive

The rental places I’ve looked into cost about $200 a day for cameras. I’m probably going to be filming different interviews for weeks, if not months. That’s way to expensive….I need some kind of cheap alternative. That’s why I was looking into buying used equipment.

Inactive

I might just save up for an hd camera, but what I really need to know is the differences in quality between ccd, 3-ccd, hd, and any other terms I will see while looking at various cameras.