Demo Reel Question

Viewing 5 reply threads
  • Author
      Anonymous
      Inactive

I own a small video business. I saw a job for a local tv station looking for a commercial producer. I have done some of these for companies’ web sites, trade shows etc., but I know I am out of my league getting this job, but I thought I would try. My only hope is this is a small town and no one else applies!

My basic questions are about the demo dvd they are requesting.. Do I put each example as a seperate file and make it a full blown dvd with chapter menus? Or do I blend them all together? What type of file MPEG, AVI? How many examples should I send?

Any help would be much appreciated!

Linda

Anonymous
      Inactive

oc6088,

This reminds me of several years ago, when I was a Navy photographer. A fellow Navy photographer was planning on starting a business, and was wondering what to put in his portfolio. After much discussion, we decided the best approach was to have one example of each of the types of photos (portrait, sports, product, architectural) he might be hired to do. Then add an extra one or two examples for the types that were his specialty (or that the client said he wanted).

I suppose a similar approach could be taken for a Demo Reel DVD. Maybe a 20-second flashy intro, followed by a menu of video examples by type (commercial, news, instructional, sports, human interest, animation).

Some employers ask for a link to a website of video examples.

That’s my 4 cents worth. (It would be 2 cents, but with inflation ….. well, you know.)

Ken

NewBirthProductions
      Participant

Well the first question do you have any commercials that you have done to put on your resume/reel?

Your reel is your resume and it should reflect the job your applying for, in this case that is commercials.

Unless you have some non-commercial clips that really shows off your creative side, I would leave them out.