Cut to beat vs against the beat…

Viewing 8 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

I believe and read about how sometimes when editing a clip or music video, if all the cuts fall exactly on a beat, the pace can seem too predictable and boring. Cutting at a half beat or “against the beat” can make watching more enjoyable. If you watch any MTV music video, you will hardly see cuts “on-the-beat”.

I’m asking because I made a 1.5 minute clip of bride preps that the client (who is a freelance videographer – not the couple) asked that I keep it short and simple. I am satisfied with what I did but my client has this illusion that every cut MUST be on a beat and he says that the clip looks unprofessional because the cuts don’t match up with all the beats of the song.

I tried to educate him but he doesn’t want to think outside the box. I’m usually an assertive guy but being self-taught with editing (although I’ve been doing it for 8 years and have a good reputation), I wanted to do something that I haven’t done in a while and that is to ask you guys to watch the 1.5 minute clip and tell me if you felt not at ease with the pace and cuts. The clip can be watched here:

Thank you so much.

Participant

There’s more to editing than cutting (or not cutting) on the beat. Sometimes there are obvious beats that will feel dull if you don’t hit those beats, but in my opinion editing is more about the pace, timing, and “story.”

I don’t think your video is bad at all, but it’s also kind of hard to weigh cutting on the beat vs off the beat when I only have one of those scenarios to evaluate. Sure, your edit doesn’t feel uneasy or jarring, but maybe cutting on the beat more often really would give the piece more energy. It’s hard to say without seeing a version that cuts on the beat…

My only criticism is the pace remained the same after that transition at 1:00. I would have picked up the pace after that and tried to make it more exciting.