Corporate camcorder

• This topic has 5 replies, 1 voice, and was last updated 11 years ago by AvatarAnonymous.
Viewing 5 reply threads
  • Author
      Inactive

I’ve been enjoying this forum and have read a gazillion requests for help choosing a camcorder and none of them seem to be exactly what I need….so, here’s what I need and I’d appreciate advice.

I work for a company that makes high-speed equipment. I’ve been doing the videography myself since about 2000. I have a great computer for it, work with Premier Pro, but my camcorder is old and dated (Sony Handycam DCR-PC5). I’ve loved it, easy to use and takes decent video, but I want better!

Since nearly all of our customers will take my DVD and watch it on their computers, I don’t think I want HD (anyone disagree with that?). HD seems like it’s needless camera expense and also takes more memory in my computer which would be worthwhile if viewed on an HD monitor, but I don’t think it will.

Areas that I’d like to improve on is overall picture quality, steadiness, and ability to shoot in less than ideal lighting (factory-setting). The machine moves fast so it has to be able to lots of motion as well. Since I like to edit in Premiere, I want to stick with the very-editable Mini-DV format. Microphone isn’t important since I nearly always do a complete voiceover.

I’m open to older, used cameras and have been looking on Ebay. After looking on this site for a while, it seems like I can’t go wrong with Canon XL2, Panasonic AG-DVC30 or 60, or Sony VX2100. Am I headed in the right direction? I am very new to normal camera stuff like manual focus, so I’m hoping for something as automated as possible. Thanks for your help!

Participant