copy right music on website

Viewing 20 reply threads
  • Author
      Inactive

I am building a website to market my video editing/dvd montage services and want to use some videos I’ve made as samples. They include Itunes songs that I have purchased. The question is … I am not actually selling these videos but am selling my services. Can I legally do that since I don’t intend to sell the video?

Participant

I think that’s still illegal because you’re technically benefiting from the use of someone else’s copyrighted work

Participant

I am not a lawyer nor do I play one on TV – However, unless you have specifically obtained rights to these popular songs (if you don’t know for certain then you have not done so) I would not post them anywhere or even make the videos available outside your living room.

You will need sync rights, mechanical rights, performance rights, distribution rights, etc….

Better to go with royalty free or some other easily and inexpensively licensed form of music. Look around in these forums for scads of royalty free suggestions.

Participant

“They include Itunes songs that I have purchased.”

What you purchase is the license to listen to the music on your own devices. Read the fine print.