Conversation Camera Angles

Viewing 6 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

Hey all, i’m new at this film making thing, so if any newbieness of my shows, please forgive πŸ˜€

Anyway, you know how in movies, when two people are talking to each other and the camera are cut to the person that’s currently talking. Is that done just by filming the scene twice? from two different angles…or something much easier? haha.

Thanks all.. πŸ˜€

Inactive

Howdy shrimp! πŸ˜€

It honestly depends on how the conversation or interview is shot. Sometimes they’ll re-shoot a scene twice. Other times, they’ll position the cameras so they can record both ends of the conversation at the same time. For example, in the movie Frequency, both the 1969 and the 1999 scenes were shot simultaneously, on two sets that were built so the actors could know what the other was doing. It made for a very realistic effect.

Ultimately, no matter which way you shoot a conversation, the number one rule is to use screen direction to your advantage. What I mean is, if your camera start on person 1, who is looking off to the right, then your shot of person 2 should show them looking to the left. This allows the brain to "see" the person off-camera, and the shot looks right to the mind of the viewer.

Participant

I see what you mean, thanks for the tip.

As i only have 1 camera at my disposal, the only way to get it done, is to shoot the shot twice…that could cause some trouble, if the lighting changes and things, because when editing, it would be hard, but if we are in a room with artificial light, it should be fine right? πŸ˜€

Inactive

Oh yeah, doing this sort of thing with one camera is easy. Just tape it twice, and edit it all later. Lighting definitely is a concern, but if you don’t use your camera’s auto exposure setting, and if you keep all your lights in the same locations, you should be just fine.

You’ll have to let us know how it goes!

Participant

Hi,