complete newbie needs advice… i know… i know…. newbies

Videomaker – Learn video production and editing, camera reviews Forums Technique Miscellaneous Techniques complete newbie needs advice… i know… i know…. newbies

Viewing 3 reply threads
  • Author
      Inactive

hey guys — so i’m a musician who is going to do a DVD of a studio recording session. this will be all original stuff in a documentary style, made for the purpose of getting work in my local market… i’ll be sending them out to many folks and generally leaving them in select locations for free to have maximum effect.

i will most likely be using a professional editor to produce the final cut (an aquaintance from a previous advertising day job), so to speak, but i’m wondering about advice for the shoot. Can i get by using, say, a film student at a university to shoot? or do i need to hire someone to get a professional quality look and feel? i was planning on renting 2 cameras for angles and using an older Sony DV cam for yet another possibility. is that feasible to ‘mix’ shots from 2 different chipsets and lenses basically? or would that take too much time from the editing/editor to make a seamless look?

any other general videography advice on this particular setup? inside, natural lighting, don’t necessarily want to pay for lighting rental or professional videography. can i do it and come out with a decent documentary style product worthy of distribution (not sale, but for PR), knowing that in the end, the performance and sound is the focal point?

thanks for any advice. this is not a challenge to flame the newbie! πŸ™‚

Inactive

God bless newbies!!
      But you sound more like a person wanting video shot and not a newbie wanting to do the shooting. X-D

Lighting can make or break your production so please keep that in mind.
      Even natural lighting has to be thought out to get the best images.