Complete Newbie Here. Bear with me.

Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author
      Inactive

I have tons of video on MiniDV. My camera is a Sony DCR-TRV33. I have a moderately fast computer, with enough of what I need to do editing. I just installed a new Firewire port for connecting to the camera. I just installed a Sony DVD-RW and it seems to be installed correctly. The test I did seemed to burn a dvd fine, but I cant play DVD’s. When I put a DVD in to play, it just spins up and then spins down. I also have a CDRW installed as well.
      My questions….
      I dont want to make money doing video editing, I just would like to get better at it. I am an avid off-roader, and we video our outings with the camera. We also take general family video. I would just like to be able to do basic editing to just make viewable movies to put on DVD.
      I played around with some video as soon as I had everything installed the other night, and was using PowerDVD and Windows Movie Maker. Which of these two should I use? Which is easiest to learn on?
      When I am capturing video from the camera, do I just need to set it to capture, and walk away til it is done? It seems like there would be a faster way, other than watching it in real time while it is capturing.
      If anyone wants to tackle this, or knows of any articles or tutorials online that could teach a newbie like myself, it would be greatly appreciated. A person could also email me with any info at ssparks@allegiance.tv Once again….. Thanks in advance.

Inactive

oklazukguy,
      OK, you seem to have several questions, so maybe I should start by listing the steps I take to make a DVD, and you can see where your steps differ.

1. Upload from camcorder to computer. This results in several .AVI files on my computer hard drive.
      2. Use my editing software to create a movie from the individual .AVI files, and save it as a .AVI file (or maybe as .MPG file)