Color Monitor Question

Viewing 11 reply threads
  • Author
      Inactive

I am new to Videography and editing. I have a custom built computer with Adobe Preimiere Pro 1.5. I also bought a used seperate TV color monitor off ebay. I have a video switcher hooked up to both the PC and the color monitor. So now my dumb question:

I was told that you should view your clips on a tv monitor to make sure it looks good for color and sizing, framing etc. before you render and export. How can I view a clip on the seperate TV monitor that I have edited? Can I do it from within Premiere Pro? Or do I have to run it through my video camera into the color monitor? I am fairly techy, but this one is driving me nuts. I am sure there is a simple way to do this.

Thanks!

Brad

Inactive

Brad

I never did this but I am building a pc with a card for dual monitors. I imagine there is a card with some other plug in for a tv – be that analogue or digital.

then there is a setting on 1.5 "view in external monitor that you woud use.

— I just upgraded to 2.0 and imported a sequence from 1.5 (which was fine in 1.5) but not the size is off. about 50% what is should be.

The source monitor is ok but the sequence monitor is too small by about 50% – I can add the zoom filter but that results in a poor quality.

am I missing something?

Inactive

Thanks to both of you!

Inactive

Compusolver;

in 1.5, the picture was fine (filled the window). in 2.0 its like 50%. (boardered with black)

what conerns me (besides I cant see what Im doing) is that im trying to set up a DVD from the 2.0 timeline.

the thumbnails are also 50% which leads me to beleive that it will also render at 50% and only play back at half the TV size.

Inactive

ok I hope this photo link works.

if it does, you should be able to see the black around the footage and the prroperties,

format = AVI
    size = 720 x 480

etc.