College student seeking camcorder advice…

Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

I am a student at the University of Florida and I am looking to purchase a camera to start experimenting with my own films. The three cameras that seem to best fit my price range and experience are Canon’s GL2 and Sony’s HDR-HC1 and DCRVX2100. While the GL2 and DCR-VX2100 seem to be higher caliber cameras than the HDR-HC1, the HDR-HC1 seems to cater to the filmmaker market and also provide HD quality. Obviously, I can’t afford an HD tv, hddvd player, etc. so HD wouldn’t be an advantage for probably a year or two…. So the question is, with my current situation in mind, would I be foolish to forego HD for a more upscale and maybe obsolete camera? If so, which would be the better choice?

Participant

I would not suggest and HD, mostly for one reason:

It is not definate that either HD or Blueray are going to make is as the standard media format.

Also If you are new to filmmaking you might want to get a cheaper camera than something like a GL2. When I was in college I bought a Canon Optura Xi, which is kinda hard to find these days. They allow for a lot of manual control, which keeping the more complex stuff simplified. It is a great camera and is really good for someone who is new to filmmaking. It goes for less than $1000 these days and it will last you until you are ready for a better camera. It is a mini dv but it does really great animorphic 16:9 shooting.

I still use mine. and I can definatly say it is worth the money. Evnetually you would want to save up money and get a much nicer camera. I am going to be getting an XL2. I am skipping the HD for now because it is jsut not a viable format, and honestly it may not become one for home entertainment.