China & Alaska Trip and Ski Videos

Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

Hi all, I’m new and have alot to learn so forgive my ignorance.

My wife and I will be traveling to Alaska on Vacation, China on business and we ski alot and have been trying to move to a ski town. I am contemplating a prosumer camcorder to use for our own stuff but also to make some extra money. Was thinking I could possibly sell some HD footage from Alaska and China and possibly make DVD’s for families of their vacation ski trips (possible way to move to ski town).

Where might I look for leads into selling footage from China and Alaska?

I am considering the Sony HVR-V1U and HDR-FX-7 and the Pany AG HVX200 as platforms on which to launch. I realize there is a host of editing and production issues and other equipment necessary and I’ll read and then get into that on the hardware forums.

I have some professional photography experience and education so I’m not a total novice to a viewfinder. We ski pretty well by eastern US standards and I can ski and film at the same time. Will be asking about steadycam type stuff later as well for this purpose.

Anybody give ski videos a try yet?

Thanks,

Participant

Yep, I’ve done several ski vacation type videos. The only thing you need to watch out for is camera damage. As far as holding while skiing, that’s no problem and your shots should be pretty smooth. I have used a stabilizer bracket a few times and that works great. I call it the doggy cam. It’s basically a bent tube with a camera mounting plate on the end. When you ski with that, you can hold the camera cown by your ski tips or out to your side about at knee height. Makes a nifty shot. The’re not that expensive either.

What ever camera you get, keep it protected from moister, and the cold. Don’t forget the condensation in the lense when you go inside for a coffee.

Participant