Cheap way to make pro-looking DVD’s on an inkjet printer…

Videomaker – Learn video production and editing, camera reviews Forums Technique Editing Cheap way to make pro-looking DVD’s on an inkjet printer…

Viewing 3 reply threads
  • Author
      Inactive

Since I started doing DVD’s a couple years back, I’ve just been labeling them with those photo labels you can get at office supply stores. To date, nobody has complained about this, but I don’t like it. I’m a professional, and disc labels, to me, look cheezy. I should be above that.

After shopping around for a good thermal printer to produce DVD’s for my clients, I came to the conclusion that I can’t afford the printer I want to allow me to print full color discs, so I started researching inkjet printers.

I found a great little all-in-one unit from Epon at Sam’s club for $90. Aside from printing discs, I can also use this for other business stuff, as opposed to the family printer, making it easier to justify itemizing printer costs on my taxes (:-P). So I got that, as well as a spindle of 100 printable DVD’s.

Let me stop to point out the obvious information that any inkjet owner knows about: running ink. As soon as inkjet ink gets wet, it goes all over the place. Now, again, we go back to the whole "professional" issue. Being in that category, I don’t want to give someone a disc that looks beautiful, but as soon as Aunt Rhona spills a little watter on it, the image washes away. So, to solve this problem, I used a technique that I learned from my dad, who runs a small auto body shop: clearcoat!