CCD or CMOS?

Viewing 5 reply threads
  • Author
      Inactive

I am looking to get a HD camera. The ones I have been looking at all have that 1080i ability, but I am confused about the difference between a CCD HD camera’s and a CMOS HD camera’s picture quality. I have read articles about the difference, and they SEEM to be saying that you get a better picture quaility with CCD cameras. Also I noticed that CMOS HD cameras are cheaper. Ok, here are the questions.

1. What chip provides a better quality HD picture (CCD OR CMOS)?

2. If I do go with the CMOS, will I still see a major quality improvement over my Sony V2000 picture?

3. I am a wedding videographer, will the bride notice the difference between her wedding shot with a CMOS HD camera, and her girlfriends shot with a CCD HD camera?

As you may read into this, I will to spend a $1000.00 less on the CMOS camera, but I don’t want the purchase to come back later to bit me in the ass.

Each sensor type has it’s unique qualities. Historically CCDs have been better in that they’ve produced better looking images. But, that is mainly because CMOS technologies have needed to overcome their own obstacles to reach the quality of CCD imagers. That was several years ago. Currently, at the consumer and prosumer price points, CMOS seems to have greater benefits than CCDs– including picture quality.