Cannot download Premier Pro CS3

Viewing 5 reply threads
  • Author
      Inactive

Hey all: OK I have a crappy emachine. On it I have 1.43 GB of RAM and a 1.91 GHz processor. From CS3, I needed Photoshop, InDesign and Premier Pro, but am likely in over my heard regarding resources, particularly with Premier Pro. I can’t remember what the dialog box said but it was one of a few programs in CS3 during the analyzing process with a red X next to it I guess basically telling me my computer would not support it. I tried a separate download after I successfull got Photoshop and InDesign on but no go. I’ve been a writer for decades and am trying to upgrade my skills to get me a step up from dinosaur status, but am laid off with little money. I do want Premier Pro for a slideshow cottage industry I am considering. Do I need a faster processor? More memory (likely not, right?) Help?

Participant

You definitely need more of each and probably a bigger hard drive as well.

Participant

Sometimes I’m forced to use an older emachine, but it works fine. When I first used it, it had 1.8GHz with 512MB RAM….I was able to edit 2-3 hour weddings with 6-8 hours of raw footage with minimal problems and ALL adobe programs worked fine….Since then I’ve bumped it up to 2GB RAM and I sometimes use it for minor projects or Short HD demos or motion graphics whenmy other G5 or PCare occupied.

You may get some red X warnings, but the programs should still work.

You may need to wipe the hard drive and reinstall the operating system and all other software so that you are working with a clean slate and undue any damage or conflicting configurations.

If you can, upgrade to 2GB of RAM…I don’t think it will accept more than that.

I don’t believe you can upgrade to a different processor that will really make that much of difference…but a newer PCI-express video card will help the viewpoint editing process.

Colleen,