• Author
      Participant

Hello everyone. I’m a sports videographer and am looking to improve
      my tools, so I thought I’d ask the experts. Using a football
      recruiting video for example, in each play I need to freeze frame and
      put a circle or some sort of highlight around the subject player, so
      that the coach viewing the video will know who to watch. My current
      tool is (don’t laugh) WMM. It gets the job done, but requires photo
      editing software and is very time consuming.

I believe that the quality of video is what’s important, but “fancy highlights equals high dollar professional” in some people’s eyes, so effects are important.

Can Vegas help me do this quickly, and what kind of highlighting effects would be available?

Thanks,

Stacy

Inactive

The best program to do this sort of stuff would be After Effects, but i understand that it might be a litle too expensive. What you can do inVegasis to use the “Light Rays” effect. What it basically does it darkens the whole video down and make one bright spot. If you play with thesettings, i think you can darken the video down about 50-65% and make the “light spot” somewhatbrighter. Then you can just animate the position of the light. This will drawn the attention to the person/people.

Participant

Without the need for high amounts of detail in special affects, Vegas Pro will probablysuit your needs. If you’re talking about the Sony Vegas Movie Studio version, then you should be looking at a more highly armed budget.