Can I burn 1080p footage to a DVD? How?

Anonymous (not verified)

I am a beginner. Our video is only seven minutes long, so I don't think actually space on the disc is an issue. The footage was shot in 1080p, and edited with Sony Vegas Pro. Is there a way to keep it at this quality? We aren't sure which options we should choose when rendering in Sony Vegas--we think MPEG2. But we tried that and then we burned it (with Windows DVD Maker) and the video was squished horizontally. What are we missing?

Luis Maymi's picture
Plus Member

DVD is 720x480. In order to burn 1080p you need a Blue Ray disc and a software with that feature. For the video format MPEG2 DVD works best.

-

"The meaning of a movie are the characters, the life of the movie is the music, but the magic is in the editing" –  http://www.lomaymi.com

B Creative's picture

can i burn an hd video (1080*1920) on a dvd and preserve a 1080 quality not 720 ?

Luis Maymi's picture
Plus Member

Do you have DVD Architect Studio? This one is Sony professional version of DVD authoring (it also works with Blu Ray). I read about Windows DVD Maker and it said that it support over 60 video formats. My advise is to try different video formats until you find one that works best. I would start with uncompressed AVI or WMV, setting the features at the highest possible resolution and Variable Bit Rate 2 pass encoding. I recommend investing in DVD architect Studio because it will give you a lot more options and the interphase is almost identical to Vegas.

-

"The meaning of a movie are the characters, the life of the movie is the music, but the magic is in the editing" –  http://www.lomaymi.com

Yvon Robert's picture

Hi,

I am use Magix Edit Pro 17 Plus version I can burn the AVCHD Blu-Ray on a DVD the program offer this option.

To do so you must respect 2 conditions:

1) The maximum project length is 30 minutes or less.

2) Need a Blu-Ray burner on the computer and on your TV need a Blu-Ray player.