camera settings for greenscreen shooting??

Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author
      Inactive

I’m going to be shooting video against a greenscreen and adding in my Digital Juice ideas. I’ll be using DV rack 2.0 to my laptop where I’ll be editting in Vegas 7.0. I need to know how I should set my Canon ELura 100 to any specific settings. I’m new to shooting video and do not have the knowlegde of setting up a camera for any type of shooting circumstances.

Shotting for DVD production, using a shotgun mic with rode minimic microphone. Some of these clips will be used on the web on my site and on YouTube as well.

Can someone help?

thanks

Inactive

Hey glass,

The Elura is a good camera for a consumer 1CCD model, but it might pose some challenges to chromakeying. Still, I think you can pull it off. Here are a few ideas.

-Record directly onto your computer. If you record onto a MiniDV tape first, and then transfer it onto the PC, depending on the processor in the camcorder (I’m not totally familiar with the Elura) you might get a lot more color compression than if you directly recorded onto your PC. Plus, it saves you the time of dubbing it onto your computer later!

-Get a good white balance. If I recall correctly, the Elura 100 lets you do a custom white balance. Do this. If you leave it on auto WB, your camera might try to compensate for the over-abundance of green and wash out your color.

-Slightly oversaturate colors on your footage. 1CCD cameras are notorious for having less than vibrant colors, and by saturating your colors a bit more, you’ll get more color separation from the green to the rest of you.