Camera recommendations for Dentistry / Surgery Videos

Videomaker – Learn video production and editing, camera reviews Forums General Video and Film Discussion Camera recommendations for Dentistry / Surgery Videos

Viewing 5 reply threads
  • Author
      Inactive

Hello!

I am new here.

I am a dentist and I would like to start videotaping some of my procedures for use during a seminar. Ideally the videos would be from “my point of view” – so it would be best if the camera were attached to a headband / headlamp apparatus.

The best option I have come across so far is found here:

http://www.surgitel.com/web/MedicalSpecialty/SurgiCam.asp

This would be awesome, its just that my project is not important enough to me to justify the pricetag of $10,000 !!!

I was hoping that someone on this forum might have some options that would be more economical and still yield a decent image.

A dedicated computer and or laptop in the operatory is definitely available.

I also have available a headlamp mounted fiberoptic light source if this would help the image quality.

Thank you for your help!

Mark

Personally, rather than spend THAT kind of money, and rather than actually having a cigar/lipstick-style camera head attached to your own and tethered to a recording unit, you would experience much better stability and visual quality by setting up a basic lighting system and having a tripod or support system that parks the camera to your (right, left – from whichever side you customarily operate/work) do the shooting. You could incorporate a foot-pedal-style start/stop record device, leaving your camera at a specific angle and POV (point of view) set wide and close so focus and color/light variation would be minimized.