Camera for intense action.

Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

Hi there.
      I am new to these message boards, but have been a subscriber to the magazine for about 8 years.

I am toying with the idea of purchasing a Hi-def camcorder, but I have some questions about performance.

I use my camera almost exclusively for filming wakeboarding. The action is intense, and the background is changing every frame. Are the HD cameras acurate enough to capture high speed action and changing backgrounds with minimal pixelation?

Additionally, performance during rough motion is very important. A signature shot in this sport is called a double-up, which consists of looping around over your own wake to set up a peak for the rider….. the boat is subject to 3 GIGANTIC jolts- translated to the camera- after which the camera man has less than 2 seconds to steady and frame a high speed shot.

Just for reference, here is the basic gist of what I am filming….
      http://www.wakepics.com/view_single.php/dvd-intro_wakeboarding-photos.html?medid=18089

Any suggestions on a decently priced HD camera that will perform in this enviroment?
      I am trying to stay below $4000.

Thanks in advance…..

Participant

It may be out of the question, but at the just ended NAB Post in NY, Olympus was showing a DV camera that could shoot thirty thousand frames per second (it scaled the picture at that rate but did a full 720X480 at lower-but-still-higher-than-normal speeds).

I’ve also been told that HDV is not ideal for fast motion (like pans and such).

Just a thought – It was very pricey as I remember though….

Participant

Thirty Thousand frames a second? a quick calculation suggests that you’d expire from the amount of light needed to illuminate the chips based on current efficiency standards – do you have more info.

Participant

The link to the camera (called i-SPEED) on the Olympus website is: