Camera Choice

Viewing 16 reply threads
  • Author
      ralck
      Participant

Personally, I use the manual focus controls all the time. It’s always good to have these, because you can get more artistic effects when you have full manual control of your camera.

Going back to cars, it’s like a stick shift vs. an automatic. The automatic thinks for you, and sometimes makes mistakes, like going into overdrive when you don’t want it to. The manual on the other hand only does what you want it to πŸ˜‰

ralck
      Participant

Hello! First post on your forum (sorry for the first being a question)!

I hope this isn’t a toughy for you, but here is my situation: I am a film student and I would like to buy a camera to do some independant work with. Currently I am looking at the Sony VX2100, Canon GL-2, and Panasonic AG-DVC30. The reason I am looking at these cameras is because I want manual controls on my camera, most importantly manual focus, manual color balance/white balance, shutter speed, audio controls (these are least important, but would be nice to have). I also like the zoom ring on the Sony model, but this is not necessary either, just a luxury at this point. One thing, that’s not really a feature, but is for my peace of mind, is a waranty, preferably 2 years at least (which basically means I’d have to buy new).

Here’s the catch. My budget is only about $1500USD, and could stretch to 1600 if I really needed to (but I’d rather save that extra 100 for another battery). This puts all three of these cameras out of my price range. I have seen several sites that claim they sell the camera for only 1200 or so, but checking on reseller ratings and such, they turn out to be scams (the old too-good-to-be-true thing!). I’m also a little uneasy about ebay and other auction sites because these cameras won’t come with a waranty and could be broken to begin with.