CamCorder Advice

Viewing 9 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

I am new to the video world and have been renting equipment for the most part. Can anyone advise me on buying an entry level Camcorder that can handle an amatuer/professional assignment, but does not also come with a hefty price tag. Also I am wondering weather going into an HD unit is wise, is this the certain future of professional video work. Most of the work I plan to do is general parties, dance events, Band promos, maybe an occasional training video.

Participant

Archiving important meetings and presentations and public events/trade shows are what the business Videographer does. Camcorders at this level typically cost between $1000 and $3000. The "Minimum Illumination" value is very important as well as business videographers may perform a lot of indoor shooting.

Even though there are plenty of hard drive based camcorders offering SD and HD, entry level should start with MiniDV tape based for easy editing and distribution. Stay away from DVD camcorders for event/proo shooting!

Here are some camcorders to look at in that price range:
      http://www.newegg.com/Product/ProductList.aspx?Submit=Property&Subcategory=205&Description=&Type=&N=2070050205&srchInDesc=&MinPrice=&MaxPrice=&PropertyCodeValue=1800%3A12250&PropertyCodeValue=1800%3A21572&PropertyCodeValue=1800%3A17959&PropertyCodeValue=1800%3A17961&PropertyCodeValue=1800%3A12258&PropertyCodeValue=1800%3A15440&PropertyCodeValue=1800%3A17228&PropertyCodeValue=1800%3A15351&PropertyCodeValue=1800%3A12248&PropertyCodeValue=1802%3A15276&PropertyCodeValue=1802%3A28873&PropertyCodeValue=1802%3A12292&PropertyCodeValue=1802%3A18843&PropertyCodeValue=1802%3A28393&PropertyCodeValue=1802%3A12294&PropertyCodeValue=1802%3A17414&PropertyCodeValue=1802%3A12297&PropertyCodeValue=1802%3A19986&PropertyCodeValue=1802%3A12299&PropertyCodeValue=1802%3A21247&PropertyCodeValue=1808%3A18483&PropertyCodeValue=1808%3A15406&PropertyCodeValue=1808%3A12334