Building PC for editing, what should I look for?

Videomaker – Learn video production and editing, camera reviews Forums Technique Production Gear Building PC for editing, what should I look for?

Viewing 5 reply threads
  • Author
      Inactive

Hi

I’m looking into building my own PC for editing, what should I look for? What type of motherboard, processor, how much ram, video cards, storage space, any extra’s? I have a budget between 1K-2K if that helps. I do not want to buy a turnkey or pre-manufactured/setup pc from a store. I would like the experience of building my own system, plus I’m sure it’s much cheaper because I’ll be saving on labor. Any help would be great. Thanks, Ivan

Inactive

Hi!

I’m NOT an expert in terms of building a PC for video editing. But I might shed some light with regards to your inquiry. I just bought a new PC for some home video editing. Not for commercial purposes, as of the moment. I’ve asked this specs in some of video forums if it will be ok for home video editing and I got some good response with some comments of course.

Here are the major specs:

PROCESSOR: Intel Core 2 Duo E6420 2.13GHz 4MB > {the higher the better if budget permits like Core 2 Quad Q6600}
    MEMORY: Kingston 2GB DDR2 667 > {much better if 3GB DDR2 800}
    MOTHERBOARD: Intel DG965WH with built-in firewire
    STORAGE SATA DRIVE: 80GB for system / 160GB for files > {should be 160GB for files & at least 250GB for video files}
    OPTICAL DRIVE: 20x DVD Writer Dual Layer
    DISPLAY CARD: 8500GT 512MB 128Bit DDR2 PCI-E
    MONITOR: 17" SVGA flat CRT monitor (I’ll be using this temporarily)

I bought the above system unit excluding the monitor for about US$ 720.00 or something like 32,000 Philippine Pesos.

I hope it will help you somehow.

Thanks!

Participant

Videomaker has some useful articles about that.

This one is about turnkey systems, but points out some things you would want to think about for your computer:

http://www.videomaker.com/article/13021/