Building My Digital Editing Suite

Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author
      Inactive

Hi gang – I’m building my editing suite fromthe ground up – actually including it in plans for my new home. Since I’m new to commercial/professional quality editing systems (but have tons of esxperience on the Sony/Uleqd/Pinnacle-type stuff), so I need some advice from some folks more experienced than I.

Which way should I go – Avid or Apple Final Cut? Or both? Which will glean the greatest interest from prospective customrs? WHat about acquisition and maintenance costs?

Lastly, I’m thinking of constructing a Faraday cage completely around the editing suite – to keep out all unwanted EMI and make the room as electrically “quite as possible – gonna condition the hell out of the power too. Any other tips? I’d really appreciate your help and advice – thanks a bunch!

Furrie

Inactive

Wow! no one has responded to your need to know. It sounds like you kind of already know what you want and since you posted this back in January you are probably already done. I too am looking for some advise. I took an old desk and modified it with coaster wheels and added a shelf to house my tower. But, this isno where ergonomic for the hours I spend editing, especially since all I had until recently was a hard chair borrowed from the kitchen table.