Building computer for CS3 and Avid

Viewing 5 reply threads
  • Author
      Inactive

Hey all,

So, I’m a college student that is just graduating, and, voila, my grandparents have volunteered to buying me a new editing computer. I’m really stoked, and I’m really thinking I want to build my own even though I’ve never done it before. I was just wondering what a solid combination would be as far as a motherboard and graphics card. I was thinking of getting something like this (http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=3827767&CatId=2406) with like 2 GB of RAM added on. I want plenty of room to be able to expand in the future (hard drives, PCI cards, etc.). Would this be a good choice? Does Adobe CS3 and Avid Xpress Pro support Quad-core processors yet? And as far as the graphics cards, I want something that will last me for awhile (that’s why the graphics cards I have picked out are HD), but I don’t want it to be overkill either. Price limit is $800-900. Any advice would be much appreciated. Thanks!

Inactive