Budget lighting HELP! Feedback please?

Viewing 13 reply threads
  • Author
      Inactive

I am shooting a range of exercise technique to be view on peoples computers (eg streamed or dloaded).

I am going to use a Sony HDR-HC1 to shoot it. NOW I AM A LITTLE CONFUSED ABOUT LIGHTING?!?

The gym environment I will be shooting in has no windows so it is all artificially lit by overhead fluorescent lights.

I have read this article about lighting with fluorescent at 5000k – http://www.bmyers.com/public/857.cfm?sd=30

And also this on lighting at 3200k – http://www.dv.com/features/features_item.php?articleId=23902714

I am a little confused. I am new to this so please help! Which is better which will produce a better look? Do I need a back light, as I cant see how I am going to be able to shine it on a moving person.

I need to make the basic lighting set up and get shooting ASAP, anyone that can help with info?

Thanks guys,
      Nathan πŸ™

Inactive

Nathan,
      It might take 5 or 6 movie lights to set this up right. A strong key light, a lesser fill light, a back light (or 2 backlights, 1 on each side), and 1 or 2 lights to splash some light on the background (might even clip a colored gel to a background light, for dramatic effect πŸ˜‰ ). Then see if you can get the fluorescents turned off. Mixing fluorescents and regualr tungsten lights looks horrible, unless your movie lights are strong enough to overpower the fluorescents.