breaking into the professional video and film industry

Videomaker – Learn video production and editing, camera reviews Forums General Video and Film Discussion breaking into the professional video and film industry

Viewing 1 reply thread
  • Author
      Inactive

Do you think there is a market for an e-book that would educate people on how to break into the professional video and film industry without a formal education? I started without a degree and feel grateful to have worked my way up to a General Manager position of a major Northwest company. The company I run produces several travel/adventure programs for HD television. Over the last fifteen years I have been an Editor, Director of Photography, Producer, and now a GM.
      What a lot of people dont understand is that this is a meritocratic industry that does not require the time and expense of a formal education. Ive met many people that go to school for years to get their communications or journalism degree. They incur massive debt and then struggle to find any work at all. I have knowledge that I could share that would enable people with or without a degree to find work and stay consistently employed with top organizations.
      I am not the best or the most creative in the industry. I have just modeled successful people and read many books that I have forged into a sound game plan that has always landed me a job in the television industry. Do you think there is a market for an e-book that would educate people on how to break into the professional video and film industry without a formal education?

Inactive