Brand new newbie needs your help!!!!

Viewing 17 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

Hello all. I have been searching all over for a reputable source of information that would guide me in the field of videography, and I believe I have found it here. I have alot of questions for you all and I hope you all can guide me. First let tell you about my background. I live in Toronto, Canada. I have a technical background with PC’s and do second level technical support. I have a "Samsung scd230" digital video camera. Purchased it at walmart almost 2 years ago and I am very comfortable with all the functions. I have shot a many videos with it, and have edited a couple of them and have gotten paid, not much, but I thought since I am just starting out I thought I would just charge what I am worth at that moment. I use Roxio Easy Media Creator software to do my editing and import, etc. My computer specs are 2.4ghz, 512mb ram, 2 dvd burners(one is a lightscribe drive), firewire, nvidia GeForce FX 5200 video card with 128mb ram.

Questions:

1. What camera do I start off with? Would like one that does not cost much but still delivers professional results and does not produce and tape noise in quiet environments.

2. Why would you need 2 or 3 cameras?

3. Are weddings the best and only method to have your main income?

4. Since I live in Canada will weddings mostly in the spring, summer and fall months, and would my income suffer during the colder months?

5. Why would you need 2 or 3 lighting systems?

6. As previously mentioned I use Roxio Easy Media Creator software do to all my video editing. Would you recommend something from Adobe and would you advise I use a MAC rather than a PC?

7. Do I have to spend alot on advertising or should I just focus on putting up a website and using word-of-mouth.

Thank you very much. Hope to hear from you all soon.

Participant

For weddings, three cameras are a "must" for a really professional job.